The Mika Apartments are as Greek as it gets, and occupy a peaceful spot on the outskirts of Hersonissos.
Everything here’s splashed with the country’s trademark colour scheme. Picture whitewashed apartments with blue balconies, and a spotlit bar with a white marble floor and a blue ceiling.
Things are nice and relaxed here thanks to the secluded hillside setting. It’s easy to reach Hersonissos’ restaurant-lined marina, though – a 10-minute cab ride gets you there.
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating
Based On 161 reviews
- Official Rating
Food & Drink
Bed and Breakfast
Facilities ► View all
Pool snack bar
This place offers a full cooked breakfast, snacks and drinks.
You've got a main pool, plus another smaller number, too.
This lively place comes with a pool table and a TV.
Rooms ► View all
1 Bedroom Apartment with Balcony or Terrace
These 1-bedroom apartments come with a balcony or terrace. They sleep up to 4 with a twin bedroom and 2 extra beds.
Studio with Balcony or Terrace
Studios feature twin beds or a double and a balcony or terrace.
TripAdvisor Reviews Show more reviews »
friendly and peaceful
booked through Thomson for our honeymoon. firstly as advertised In the Thomson brochure, it wasn't 30 mins from the airport, at least not by the time we dropped everyone else off. we arrived at 1.50am on Monday morning. we were dropped off on a dirt road by the coach driver with no instructions on where to go, he just drove off, we couldn't see any light, no signs, it was pitch black. we were with several other couples as well all wondering where we were. Thankfully a local man pointed us in the right direction and it was only a short walk. we were greeted by a friendly man who quickly got to work handing out room keys and sorting out air con and safety depostit boxes.before showing us all to our apartments..... he pointed at our room, right next to the pool and wandered off,.... this is the bad bit...........ROOM 103...... we walked in to a room that had a musty smell, 2 single beds with only a sheet on, no pillows. a table with 2 chairs and a tiny kitchenette. the sink was filthy! we found the bathroom, clean but again had that smell! and then into a separate bedroom... 2 single beds pushed together, I did request a double, walking back into the living area I just sat down and looked at my new husband with tears in my eyes and brushed the little black bits off of one of the single beds I was sat on, but they were moving....what the hell!!!!......ANTS!!! EVERYWHERE!!! I needed a drink, and luckily the bar was still open, so was offered the cocktail list.... why not? pina colada please. now, I have never seen anyone have to look up what to put in a pina colada and it was awful I couldn't drink it. I settled for something stronger while waiting for the guy on reception to come back so I could complain and get moved from that horrible room! finally, I got to speak to him telling him about the smell and the ants and asking if we could be moved. he said they didn't have anymore 1 bed apartments and I said id be happy with a studio, but he said no more left, and he would tell the owner and he would meet us at the big pool tomorrow. during the night we got a little chilly and tried to find a blanket, there wasn't any, so we had to pile towels on top of us to keep warm. this was a nightmare! In the morning I found the kettle and proceeded to make us a cuppa, that's when I noticed the holes in the curtains.... loads of holes! but that was ok, no one could see in our room anyway as the vines had covered our window completely and we had no natural daylight, the light had to stay on all the time we were in there. I went to the shop bought cleaning products and ant killer and tried to make good our stay by cleaning everything. I mean the fact that I completely broke down uncontrollably crying the night before because THIS WAS OUR HONEYMOON! and it was supposed to be perfect was probably exaggerated by being extremely tired from all that travelling so we just had to make good of a bad situation. so the room was now clean and smelling fresh, ants were gone or at least going... I unpacked and we headed off to find somewhere to eat as we hadn't eaten it 24 hours, we then headed for the pool. that's when everything that happened the night before eased away. it was wonderful, peaceful, no fighting for sunbeds, really hot and everyone was friendly enough, in fact we spent everyday there, its a beautiful little place, the pool was never packed either, in fact we had it to ourselves most of the time. its kept clean and the pool bar offers a bit of shade if you want to get out of the sun as there aren't any umbrellas, we did the walk to the beach one early evening and had a meal there, it probably took us longer than it should as we kept stopping to take photos. we walked into kouloutoufari (I think that's how its spelt) every evening for our evening meal, what a beautiful little place,, not overcrowded, plenty of restaurants offering great food and of course the obligatory raki. not to be missed. we did go for breakfast everyday to a place just on the corner near the Mika, it was called Magners, run by 2 greek brothers, its very modern and extremey clean, and reasonable too. so overall, would I return to Mika,? yes we would and we will, as long as we don't get that apartment again.and as it turned out that wasn't meant to be our apartment. unbeknown to the people in the beautiful apartment above us, we heard your conversation to your neighbours telling them how that dirty disgusting apartment was offered to you when you arrived just a few hours before us, but you walked in and walked out again because your daughter said it was absolutely disgusting and was going to get the next flight home.i hope you enjoyed the double bed, and natural daylight, I'm so sorry to hear you had an awful problem with ants crawling into your bread and cerial and you had to throw it all away. I must of re-directed them upstairs when I evicted them. haha. by the end of our honeymoon we didn't want to come home, its a perfect holiday for just relaxing. its just what we both needed. thanks for having us, and we will see you again!More
caroline d, 186220
Nice and quite
Stayed here twice now ,once with daughter and granddaughter .and another time with my friend .i really can't see what people are complaining about .its a nice place with nice staff and great views .i never went for breakfast.but. Could see plenty of people there every morning so it must of been ok. It's 15min stroll to beach and 2 mins to piskopiano. I will be returning here next year ,I have stayed in 4 different hotels here and think it's the best one I stayed at .lee .ukMore
Dirty pit and owner discrimination a
Repcection on arrival smelled of urine old dirty furniture dirty bar .got to our room beds single shoved together the sheets were filthy mattresses was brown stained no protector on it hole in wardrobe were a rat must ate it safe could be taken from room ants all over beds yellow stains in fridge small poky room dark no light outside frontdoor complained to owner and he said get rep to move u. He took a 100'euro deposit of us for room 20 euro for safe and wanted 80 euro for air con 200 euro before we started holiday.seen rep Monday showed her room she moved us across road to another part of mikas to a room that was ant free form bed and and small balcony but we didn't get nice towels in shapes of animals or bows like everyone eles had to ask every day for them they were just thrown into room I had to clean it everyday asked for clean sheets second week and she came in and swapped our sheets from bed to bed my husband had to have a argument for clean sheets it was our anniversary the second week and wanted a lovely holiday but it was ruined because the first two nites we had to stay with family in there apt somewhere eles .we were told the owner of mikas likes to keep the nice part of the complex for the Scandinavians and likes to keep the Irish and Brits in dirty pit .I advise everyone not to stay here.More
You get what you pay for!!
Just back from mika villas and we were more than happy with what we got. No its not the most modern decor but you are paying for 3 star not 5 star. If you are expecting everything to be perfect then pay for 5 star. The staff are more than helpful. Both alex the barman and alex the security man were amazing!! We had clean sheets and clean towels. Our apartment was clean not an ant or anything some of these other reviews are saying in sight. At the end of the day all you do is sleep there we were up and out every morning and back at night. The swimming pools were very clean. Sunbeds could do with updating but thats minor. Only thing i would say is its all up hill so we hired a quad to get about on otherwise you will end up paying a lot on taxis from herssonisos. I would not listen to any of the bad reviews on here. Go and judge for yourself! Yes its not the ritz but its fine and the staff are amazing :)More
Real Cretan hospitality!!
We really loved our stay at Mika Villas! It's a 2-min walk to the center of Piskopiano village with amazing restaurants and cafés and fantastic view! Breakfast was great (thanks Popi!!) and the pools were always clean. Eleni and the team really showed us what Cretan hospitality means and were always willing to help us with tips on restaurants and activities. You can get almost everything you need at the mini-market. The center of Hersonissos is not far with frequent buses to Heraklion or Agios Nikolaos. Thanks for a great time!We're definitely coming back!More
George N, 187371
Things To Do View all »
Items marked with * incur extra charges which are payable locally
Management at the complex reserve the right to charge a deposit of €100 cash per room on arrival.